Morning Free Association: The Bruins and the Terrible, Horrible, Very Bad Game

Embed from Getty Images

Last night in Florida, the Boston Bruins didn’t have a good night. They scored no goals, they had a player ejected from the game, and they allowed too many goals against.

The Bruins Choose Your Own Adventure Defense™ was not such a good idea for the first two goals against. It seems like the Nick Holden – Kevan Miller pairing didn’t gel early in the game as they allowed 2 goals against, but managed to shore it up after the first; the third Panthers goal was a PPG in the second.

We knew it would be a difficult game with so many players absent due to injury. It seems that the team may have hit critical mass with this second rash of injuries. Losing David Backes to a Match Penalty just added insult to injury. Backes was reportedly called for “a check from behind”, which doesn’t seem to make sense.

From the NHL Rulebook:

43.1 Checking from Behind – A check from behind is a check delivered on a player who is not aware of the impending hit, therefore unable to protect or defend himself, and contact is made on the back part of the body. When a player intentionally turns his body to create contact with his back, no penalty shall be assessed.

Vincent Trocheck had clearly turned his body and was no longer being hit from behind. As for where his head is positioned, the onus is on him to keep it up in this case, just like in the Charlie McAvoy/ Patric Hornqvist hit from a couple of weeks back.

Looking for similar calls led me to a similar but yet entirely different and actual check from behind in open ice – that resulted in a non-call.

After the game, Backes had something to say about the hit that resulted in his Match Penalty.

Hopefully the completely inconsistent (and mostly useless) Department of Player Safety doesn’t level any more punishment on Backes.

Bookmark the permalink.
the german hammer

About the german hammer

Captain of Bearly on Topic.
newest oldest most recched
Satan 81's Sister
Editor
Satan 81's Sister

If we don’t start saying “Good afternoon, Mr. Orr, great respect and honor to you.” then we have failed our captain:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BgY4beiFXDt/?hl=en&taken-by=zeechara33

The London Bear
Member
The London Bear

Pretty useful D pair right there!

Satan 81's Sister
Editor
Satan 81's Sister

Suit em up and send em out there!

MadScientist72
Member
MadScientist72

If we don’t start saying “Good afternoon, Mr. Orr, great respect and honor to you.” then we have failed our captain:

And let’s not forget to throw in a rousing
comment image

Satan 81's Sister
Editor
Satan 81's Sister

SHUT UP I TOTALLY DID BAWL MY EYES OUT WHEN I FIRST SAW THAT MOVIE!

Thetallest81
Member
Thetallest81

I feel like when a ref makes a legit bad call he should be made to come out and give a public service announcement on how he was wrong and why he made the call in the first place. There needs to be better culpability when Refs blatantly screw up something that impact the game that much. But alas…unions.

MadScientist72
Member
MadScientist72

No kidding! Calling the Backes hit a “hit from behind” would be like seeing someone get their stick in someone’s skates & calling it a hit to the head. If the DOPeS do decide it’s worthy of supplemental discipline, then we’ll know they’re not just incompetent – they’re corrupt! Because they only way they could call that hit dirty is if they’re being bribed to do so!

Long-Winded Striped Mofo
Member
Long-Winded Striped Mofo

I’ve always maintained that I am underpaid. I can blow a call just like the big boys. Show me the money!

MadScientist72
Member
MadScientist72

Unfortunately the money doesn’t trickle down to the little guys on the ice. The bigwigs in the head office keep it all.

comment image

Long-Winded Striped Mofo
Member
Long-Winded Striped Mofo

The only thing that tricked down is the blame.

Nice Wooster gif, tho.

MadScientist72
Member
MadScientist72

Blackadder, actually, but still Hugh Laurie.

Satan 81's Sister
Editor
Satan 81's Sister

Had a dream last night that I was taking a mythology class taught by Jeff Goldblum. And speaking of Choose Your Own Adventure, R.A. Montgomery lived in the Mad River Valley. He was a super nice guy. Always talked to you like he’s known you his whole life.

phonymahoney
Editor
phonymahoney

Morning, pals!

  • Had a nice work event – dinner with my NY colleagues. One of them told me that his favorite thing about me is that I unabashedly use the word “pal”, hahaha
  • Didn’t stay out that late, but I’m exhausted.
  • Also, I missed the hockey game, but it sounds like I didn’t really miss the hockey game.
  • I have a lot going on right now buuuuut Audra has returned to God’s Country, so I’m going to have a busy weekend.
  • MadScientist72
    Member
    MadScientist72

    One of them told me that his favorite thing about me is that I unabashedly use the word “pal”, hahaha

    Do you usually use “pal” in the way that means “friend” or in the more typical Bostonian way that means “asshole”?

    Long-Winded Striped Mofo
    Member
    Long-Winded Striped Mofo

    Like. – “Listen here, pal!”

    MadScientist72
    Member
    MadScientist72

    comment image

    IntentionallyWidenberg
    Admin
    IntentionallyWidenberg

    What an annoying rule — no 2 minute or 4 minute version, just a 5 minute major + game misconduct with an optional match penalty if there was a deliberate intent to injure.

    In other words the choices are “ignore it” or “pour gasoline on the player & light him on fire” with an optional “piss on his ashes” follow up.
    comment image

    Long-Winded Striped Mofo
    Member
    Long-Winded Striped Mofo

    There are a few rules like that. Some can be avoided by calling interference or roughing, although rules committees try to eliminate options. Unfortunately, it takes away the grey areas where a ref can use judgement and experience to arrive at a just decision.

    The London Bear
    Member
    The London Bear

    Well it couldn’t be interference because he had the puck. But then again, you’d think it couldn’t be a hit from behind since he hit him in the chest. Hmmm.

    Thetallest81
    Member
    Thetallest81

    i guess what you could say in this case is that…well…you dont call a penalty because….well…it wasnt one.

    Long-Winded Striped Mofo
    Member
    Long-Winded Striped Mofo

    Hey Pals!
    That game ……. oooofff!
    Really, it wasn’t…. oh, nevermind… I guess it was.
    Can the Bruins subtract from the IR once in awhile?
    The Backes hit? I’m guessing no supplementary discipline, but I’ve been wrong before – once. In reality, I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken.
    Coffee, no, no – just bourbon after that game!