Game Day Thread: NHL All Star Game 2019/20

PastrRoni - the Czech Republic treat!

PastrRoni – the Czech Republic treat!

Tonight is the night for the actual All-Star games

Yes, we got to see the skills competitions, and they actually included some womens’ hockey all-stars!

Shea Weber once again won the hardest shot competition, with a shot of 106.5mph, but did not match Zdeno Chara’s record of 108.8mph or even match Weber’s score from last year’s competition.

The Canadians elite women defeated the American elite women by 2-1.

A bunch of pro hockey players launched pucks into targets from 30 feet up in the stands. Bruin competitor David Pastrnak launched his first shot from the stands into the far goal, which was something like 240 feet away, but only worth 4 points. He did not fare well overall in the event, after his shot into the 10-point target did not register.

Matt Barzal was the fastest skater with a fast but not record time of 13.175 seconds.

Jaccob Slavin won the accurate shot competition with 8 shots to knock out the 5 targets in a time of 9.505 seconds (David Pastrnak won last year with 11.309 sec).

Jordan Binnington had the longest goaltender save streak, with 10 saves in a row.

Well, there will be some 3-on-3 hockey games. E.g. the actual All Star games. The Atlantic and Metropolitan division teams will face each other, and the Pacific and Central division teams will play. Then a 3rd game will have the winning teams face each other.

The team rosters follow (Capatains marked with asterisk)

Atlantic Division:
Tyler Bertuzzi (DET) — Jack Eichel (BUF) — David Pastrnak* (BOS)
Jonathan Huberdeau (FLA) — Mitch Marner (TOR) — Shea Weber (MTL)
Victor Hedman (TBL) — Brady Tkachuk (OTT) — Anthony Duclair (OTT)

Frederik Andersen (TOR) / Andrei Vasilevskiy (TBL)

Metropolitan Division:
Kris Letang* (PIT) — Mathew Barzal (NYI) — Nico Hischier (NJD)
Travis Konecny (PHI) — Chris Kreider (NYR) — T.J. “not Alex Ovechkin” Oshie (WSH)
John Carlson (WSH) — Seth Jones (CBJ) — Jaccob Slavin (CAR)

Braden Holtby (WSH) / Tristan Jarry (PIT)

Game Two:

Central Division
Nathan MacKinnon* (COL) — Patrick Kane (CHI) — Ryan O’Reilly (STL)
David Perron (STL) — Mark Scheifele (WPG) — Tyler Seguin (DAL)
Eric Staal (MIN) — Roman Josi (NSH) — Alex Pietrangelo (STL)

Jordan Binnington (STL) / Connor Hellebuyck (WPG)

Pacific Division
Connor McDavid* (EDM) — Leon Draisaitl (EDM) — Tomas Hertl (SJS)
Anze Kopitar (LAK) — Max Pacioretty (VGK) — Elias Pettersson (VAN)
Matthew Tkachuk (CGY) — Mark Giordano (CGY) — Quinn Hughes (VAN)

Jacob Markstrom (VAN) / David Rittich (CGY)

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

About IntentionallyWidenberg

Position: Power Forward. Occupation: I am the Egg Man. Contrary to popular belief, I am not the Walrus.
newest oldest most recched